WAWAY’S RESTAURANT : The Php 250 Buffet in Legazpi City

I was a day early in Legazpi City for the 2013 Mayon 360-degree Ultra Marathon which was scheduled April 6. I had a day to spare and I did two of my favorite things to do when visiting a place. One of which is to visit a restaurant famous in that area. Which is why I ended up in Waway’s Restaurant in Bonot, Legazpi City, courtesy of the generosity of my Ateneo de Naga High School Batch 1983 classmate Bodjie Importante and wife Neth .

pic1

Bodjie and family

Bodjie and family

pic2

Waway’s was started in 1967 and is owned and managed by the Cristobal family. It is known for the seafood and Bicol dishes. I remembered when I was still in high school way back in the early 1980s, in those rare times we were in Legazpi (this city is about 2 hours drive from my hometown Iriga back then) my dad used to bring us to this restaurant and I flat out enjoyed the shrimps and the lapu lapu dishes. Fast forward to the early 2010s and Waway’s is getting to be famous again for its “Eat All You Want & Eat All You Can” lunch and dinner buffet. All for the very affordable price of Php 250 per person (US$6.10 for those receiving greenbacks).

Despite bargain basement price of this lunch buffet, Waway’s can take pride in offering a generous lunch line up. Care to wet your appetite with the photos of the delicious entrees of the buffet:

Laing

Laing

Bicol express

Bicol express

Gulay na pagulong

Gulay na pagulong

Ginataang pusit

Ginataang pusit

Beef kare kare

Beef kare kare

Bopis

Bopis

fish with tausi

fish with tausi

Halaan soup

Halaan soup

salad section

salad section

In addition to those not pictured, the buffet menu included lechon kawali, lechon paksiw, inihaw na liempo, inihaw na tuna, dinuguan, pancit bihon, nilasing na hipon, pinangat, menudo, sarsiadong isda and halo halo.

Truly, this is a feast. A very good value lunch for a bargain hunter like me. I did the math and I figured with just 2 rounds of visit to the buffet table, I am already breakeven with the Php 250 fee. But since the food are tasty and hot, I got to go back to the buffet table four times. We stayed there for 2 hours.

Carbo-loading to the max for the 2013 Mayon 360-degree ultra marathon.

7 thoughts on “WAWAY’S RESTAURANT : The Php 250 Buffet in Legazpi City

  1. After looking at a handful of the blog posts on your web site, I seriously like your way of
    blogging. I book-marked it to my bookmark site list and will be
    checking back in the near future. Please visit my web site
    as well and let me know your opinion.

  2. Thank you for your encouraging and wonderful article in your blog. We truly appreciate you sharing your pleasant gustatory experience in our restaurant.
    We are opening a branch in Albay this January 2017, a milestone of Waway’s Restaurant. We are celebrating our 50th year this 2017-continuing to serve authentic Bicol and Filipino dishes at very affordable price.
    Dios mabalos po.

    • Hello,

      How are you?
      Apologies for the delayed response. You can call (052) 480-3247 and look for Mrs Lorna Cristobal or Gene Carlo Cristobal.

      Maraming Salamat,
      Nannette Hidalgo

Leave a Reply

